Apple Supports Sony Access Controller on iPhone, iPad and Mac

by priyanka.patel tech editor

Apple confirmed support for the Sony Access Controller on iPhone, iPad, and Mac in a May 19, 2026, accessibility update, but details remain sparse about pricing, compatibility, and platform expansion. The controller’s inclusion in Apple’s accessibility release highlights the company’s focus on gaming accessibility, though the announcement provides minimal technical or commercial information.

The May 19, 2026, release explicitly lists iOS, iPadOS, and macOS as platforms supporting the Sony Access Controller, but excludes Apple TV, Apple Watch, and visionOS. This contrasts with the same day’s hearing aid pairing update, which included visionOS, suggesting a fragmented approach to hardware integration. Apple has not stated whether support for the controller will extend to excluded platforms in the future.

The Sony Access Controller features a configurable thumbstick, nine built-in buttons, and the ability to pair two units simultaneously. Apple also notes support for up to four external buttons that can be wired separately. However, the company does not specify the controller’s connection method (Bluetooth, wired, or both), a detail it does provide for other accessibility features like Vision Pro’s Wheelchair Control. No pricing information or game compatibility details are disclosed.

Apple Confirms Sony Access Controller Support for iPhone, iPad

Apple’s release does not explain the practical use cases for dual-controller pairing, only confirming the feature’s availability. The controller’s configurable thumbstick and button layout suggest flexibility for users with varying mobility needs, but the absence of a public release date beyond “later in 2026” leaves the timeline ambiguous. The update also does not clarify whether configuration occurs through Apple’s settings or the controller itself.

The Sony Access Controller’s announcement appears alongside other accessibility features, including hearing aid pairing improvements, a new FaceTime interpretation feature, and updates to VoiceOver and Magnifier. Apple grouped all these updates under one accessibility announcement rather than issuing a standalone game controller update, which is why it sits alongside features aimed at different user groups. This approach positions the controller as a platform-support story rather than a settings-focused feature.

Apple has not specified a minimum OS version for the controller’s functionality beyond the upcoming iOS 27 release, which is scheduled for September 14, 2026. The company also has not confirmed whether the Sony Access Controller is tied to this specific release. As of September 12, 2026, Apple’s May 19 newsroom post remains the only public description of the feature, and no further updates have been issued.

The absence of details on compatible games or apps complicates the user experience, as developers may need to adapt their software to leverage the controller’s features. Apple has not published a list of tested games or App Store categories, nor has it explained how the nine built-in buttons map to in-game actions. This gap in information leaves both users and developers without clear guidance on practical implementation.

About Assistive Access on iPhone

Apple’s release does not describe the hardware itself beyond the button and thumbstick counts it lists. It also does not name a specific games app, title, or App Store category that has been tested with the controller. Additionally, the company does not clarify whether the controller’s mapping is fixed by Apple’s framework or left to each app’s developer. These omissions highlight the lack of transparency surrounding the controller’s development and deployment.

The May 19, 2026, accessibility update also includes Assistive Access, a distinct iOS experience designed to help users with cognitive disabilities. While this feature is separate from the Sony Access Controller, it underscores Apple’s broader commitment to accessibility. Assistive Access simplifies iPhone navigation through larger onscreen items, visual alternatives to text, and specialized apps for common tasks like calling, messaging, and media playback.

How to set up Assistive Access on your iPhone or iPad | Apple Support

As of September 12, 2026, Apple has not provided further updates on the Sony Access Controller, despite its inclusion in the May 2026 release. The company’s silence on pricing, game compatibility, and platform expansion creates uncertainty for users and developers. While the controller’s accessibility focus aligns with Apple’s broader efforts to enhance inclusivity, the lack of concrete details hinders immediate adoption.

With iOS 27 set for a September 14, 2026, release, the next major development could clarify the controller’s roadmap. Until then, the Sony Access Controller remains a promising but underdeveloped feature, leaving its impact on the gaming ecosystem uncertain. Users seeking accessibility solutions will need to monitor Apple’s future updates for clarity on implementation and support.

How to use Guided Access on iPhone and iPad | Apple Support

You may also like