All the Italian standard bearers at the Winter Olympics

by time news – With Sofia Goggia, standard bearer of Italy Team at the opening ceremony of the XXIV Winter Olympic Games in Beijing, I am seven standard-bearers in the history of Italian sport.

After 20 years – Isolde Kostner in Salt Lake City 2002 – lo blue alpine skiing returns to have a flag bearer at the opening ceremony of the Games for the tenth time ever. Goggia, 28, from Bergamo, is the Olympic champion of PyeongChang 2018 in downhill but in her showcase she also boasts two downhill specialty cups and two world medals, the silver in supergiant in Are 2019 and the bronze in giant slalom in Sankt Moritz 2017. Historic is also the decision taken today at the Foro Italico by the national council, the 1119th, or having decided a priori also the standard-bearer of the closing ceremony that will be Michela Moioli, reigning Olympic champion in snowboard cross.

The story of the flag bearers

The first blue flag bearer at the Winter Games it was Leonardo Bonzi who on 25 January 1924 paraded with the tricolor at the Olympic stadium in Chamonix. That event was initially renamed ‘International Winter Sports Week’ under the auspices of the International Olympic Committee.

Bonzi was a Milanese hobbyist – later also a director, aviator and even tennis player – a member of the crew of ‘Italia 2’ of the four-man bob who did not even finish the competition. Subsequently the first Italian female standard bearer ever was Fides Romanin, on February 14, 1952 at the Oslo Games. That of the cross-country skier originally from Carnia was also the ‘first’ ever in the world of a standard-bearer woman.

The credit went to the then president of Coni, Giulio Onesti. Subsequently seven more times a woman was standard bearer. From 1924 to today, two South Tyroleans, the skier Gustav Thoeni and the sled runner Paul Hildgartner, have had the honor of being nominated twice standard bearer.

READ Also:  Beijing's crackdown on Hi-Tech giants who want to be listed abroad

All the blue ensigns:

Chamonix Mont Blanc 1924 – Leonardo Bonzi (bob). Sankt Moritz 1928 – Ferdinando Glueck (Nordic skiing). Lake Placid 1932 – Erminio Sertorelli (Nordic skiing). Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936 – Adriano Guarnieri (alpine skiing). Sankt Moritz 1948 – Vittorio Chierroni (alpine skiing). Oslo 1952 – Fides Romanin (Nordic skiing). Cortina d’Ampezzo 1956 – Nilo Zandanel (ski jump). Squaw Valley 1960 – Bruno Alberti (alpine skiing). Innsbruck 1964 – Eugenio Monti (bob). Grenoble 1968 – Clotilde Fasolis (alpine skiing). Sapporo 1972 – Luciano de Paolis (bob). Innsbruck 1976 – Gustav Thoeni (alpine skiing). Lake Placid 1980 – Gustav Thoeni (alpine skiing). Sarajevo 1984 – Paul Hildgartner (sledding). Calgary 1988 – Paul Hildgartner (sledding). Albertville 1992 – Alberto Tomba (alpine skiing). Lillehammer 1994 – Deborah Compagnoni (alpine skiing). Nagano 1998 – Gerda Weissensteiner (sledding). Salt Lake City 2002 – Isolde Kostner (alpine skiing). Turin 2006 – Carolina Kostner (figure skating). Vancouver 2010 – Giorgio Di Centa (Nordic skiing). Sochi 2014 – Armin Zoeggeler (sledding). Pyeongchang 2018 – Arianna Fontana (short track). Beijing 2022 – Sofia Goggia (alpine skiing).


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.