Compulsory quarantine for those from 12 countries; Updated international travel standards

by time news

Omikron, a new variant of the corona virus, has updated international travel standards in the wake of its discovery in various countries. Quarantine is mandatory for those coming from risk countries. 12 countries are on the list. Gulf countries are not on the list.

Those coming from risk countries should stay in the quarantine for seven days, even if it is negative. On the eighth day, the RTPCR should be checked again. Health should be monitored again for seven days after the examination.

The list includes Britain, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Singapore, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong and Israel.

Meanwhile, the Center has directed the states to strengthen precautionary measures against Omikron.

  • Increase vaccination rates and ensure that Kovid behaves appropriately.
  • Previous travel details of passengers arriving on international flights should be reviewed at the state level.
  • Extensive inspection facilities should be provided.
  • All positive cases should be sent to the designated lab for genome sequencing along with extensive testing in the area where more cases are found.
  • All states should try to keep the test positivity rate below five per cent.
  • Ensure availability of health facilities to avoid delays in getting treatment.
  • All states should address the concerns of the people through press conferences to avoid false propaganda.


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.