Delhi MCD Election Result 2022 Live Updates 2022 December 07 | Delhi MCD Election Result: Delhi MCD Local Body Election Counting Status Update

Delhi MCD Elections 2022: The polling for local body elections, which will decide the fate of Aam Aadmi Party, BJP and Congress, is going on briskly. All eyes are on the results of the Delhi Municipal Corporation elections. As expected, the Congress is leading in narrow seats, with both the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) ahead. Not only the people of Delhi, but the whole of India is eagerly waiting for the results of the municipal elections held on December 4th a few days ago. It is the results of the election that will determine the fate of the capital.

The counting of votes in the local body elections began at 8 am. A total of 42 polling centers will be counted amid tight security. These centers are located in Dwarka, Okhla, Mangolpuri, Pitampura, Alipore, Model Town, Shastri Park, Yamuna Vihar, Mayur Vihar and Nand Nagari. Tight security arrangements have been made at all polling centers and around 20 companies of Central Armed Police Force personnel and more than 10,000 police personnel have been deployed at the polling centres.

In Delhi, 50.48 percent votes have been recorded. There is a three-way contest between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress. 1,349 candidates contested the election of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi with a total of 250 wards. The MCD election results are expected to bring many political changes beyond the national capital.

According to various opinion polls, the Aam Aadmi Party will win the Delhi Municipal Corporation elections and end the BJP’s 15-year rule. While the Aaj Tak-Axis My India survey predicted Kejriwal’s party to win 149-171 corporation wards, the results are otherwise.

Babi, the first transgender candidate, has been elected as a councilor from Sultanpur ward.

Earlier, the BJP had won 181 seats out of 270 wards in the 2017 local elections in Delhi. Polling did not take place in two constituencies due to the death of candidates. Aam Aadmi Party won in 48 wards and Congress in 27 wards. In the 2017 MCT elections, the voting percentage was 53.

As this is the first local government election to be held after the new delimitation process, this election assumes great importance. Earlier, Delhi had a total of 272 wards. The Delhi Municipal Corporation was functioning in three divisions namely NDMC, SDMC and EDMC. The previous MCD was established in 1958. It was bifurcated in 2012 when Sheila Dikshit was Chief Minister. They were reunited.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick