DMK-3, AIADMK-2, Congress-1 – 6 elected unopposed in state assembly elections | Chidambaram, C.Ve. Shanmugam, four others elected to Rajya Sabha from tamilnadu

Chennai: 6 DMK, AIADMK and Congress candidates who contested in the state assembly elections were elected without contest.

The term of office of the 6 State Council members elected from Tamil Nadu ends on June 29. Following this, it was announced that the election to elect new members to these seats would take place on June 10th. Of these, DMK-3, AIADMK-2, Congress-1 and Independents 7 had filed a total of 13 petitions. The review of the petitions took place on the 1st of last month.

At that time, the petitions of 6 political party candidates were accepted. The petitions of the Independents were dismissed. The opportunity to withdraw the petitions ended at 3pm yesterday. No one withdrew the petitions. Following this, all the 6 petitioners were declared uncontested.

Secretary to the Legislature K. Srinivasan told reporters:

TKS Ilangovan (DMK), A. Navaneethakrishnan (AIADMK), RS Bharathi (DMK), SR Balasubramanian (AIADMK), Vijayakumar (AIADMK), K.R. The tenure of N. Rajeshkumar (DMK) members ends on the 29th.

Following this, an election notice was issued to fill the vacancies and 18 nominations were received from 13 candidates.

S. Kalyanasundaram (DMK) Ir. , Kandasamy, Sundaramoorthy, S. Thevarajan, Padmarajan, Manmadhan, Vel Murugan Cholakanar had filed the petition.

The petitions of 6 candidates were declared valid in the nomination process. As there are 6 vacancies and 6 candidates, according to the Representation of the People Act, S. Kalyanasundaram of DMK, Ira Girirajan, KRN Rajeshkumar, P. Chidambaram of Congress, CV Shanmugam of AIADMK, R. Dharmar has been selected without contest. Thus he said.

Following this, all the 6 successful candidates received their certificates of victory from the Secretary to the Election Commission, K. Srinivasan, last evening. In response to P. Chidambaram, his son Karthi Chidambaram received the certificate.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick