Ind vs Nz: Shreyas iyer set to make debut for India in test in Virat kohli’s absence

by time news

Shreyas suffered a serious shoulder injury while playing in the home series against England this year. The player then rested for months. Shreyas returned to action after playing for Delhi Capitals in the IPL in the UAE last month. After his return, he did not shine in batting as much as before, but there is no doubt about Shreyas’ talent.

Shreyas is also the best batsman in domestic cricket. He averaged 52.58 with a strike rate of 81.54 and averaged over 4,500 runs. That includes 12 centuries and 23 fifties. But Shreyas has not played a single match in Red Ball cricket in the last 24 months. He last batted in the 2019 Irani Cup.

Shreyas is India’s most promising batsman at number four in Kohli’s Test batting. KL Rahul will be able to play in this position but if he is shifted to the middle order he will lose consistency in the opening. Rahul played the role of opener in the Test series on the last tour of England. Shreyas is also the backbone of Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara. Rahane and Pujara are not in good form in Tests now. Therefore, it is important for India to find replacements.

India will announce the playing XI for the first Test, taking into account the nature of the pitch. India last played a Test here in 2016. Since then, India have played only T20s and ODIs here. Considering the history of this pitch so far, it can be seen that the spinners are very supportive. Therefore, India may play three spinners. The team will have R Ashwin, Akshar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja. Veteran batsmen Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Siraj will be handling the pace bowling. But the India team combination will be decided based on the nature of the pitch. He may play three pacers if he can support pace bowling as well. Umesh Yadav will be the third pacer in the team.

India’s possible XI in the first Test

KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Akshar Patel / Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Siraj.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.