Kazakhstan Tightens Entry Rules Due to New COVID-19 Strain

by time news

Since Wednesday, December 3, Kazakhstan will restrict the entry of citizens from several African countries and Hong Kong due to the new omicron coronavirus strain. The rules of entry for residents of countries where the first cases of the disease with a new variant of COVID-19 have been identified will also be tightened, announced the first deputy head of the Kazakh Ministry of Health Marat Shoranov.

He said that entry into Kazakhstan will be restricted for citizens of the Republic of South Africa (South Africa), Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Madagascar, Eswatini, Malawi, Tanzania and Hong Kong. In addition, a mandatory requirement is introduced to provide a PCR test for those arriving from Australia, Belgium, Great Britain, Germany, Egypt, Israel, Italy, Canada, the Netherlands, and the Czech Republic. Citizens of these countries will also be sent to a seven-day quarantine.

Prime Minister of Kazakhstan Askar Mamin also called on “to ensure adequate coverage with vaccinations and revaccinations.” “The control of the epidemiological situation inside the country should also be constant, continue the practice of wearing masks indoors and in transport, observing social distance,” the prime minister emphasized (quoted by RIA Novosti).

The first cases of the disease with the new COVID-19 strain were registered in South Africa, later cases of infection were detected in several European countries, including the UK, Germany, and the Czech Republic. In Russia, the omicron variant of the coronavirus has not yet been detected. Since November 28, the Russian Federation has restricted the entry of foreigners from South Africa, Hong Kong, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Madagascar, Eswatini. Direct flights to Tanzania, closed since summer, are suspended until February 1, 2022.

Read more about the new strain COVID-19 in the material “b” “”.