MOTO3 CLASSIFICATION | Sasaki scores the ‘pole’ of Moto3 in Argentina

MOTO3 CLASSIFICATION |  Sasaki scores the ‘pole’ of Moto3 in Argentina

The Japanese Ayumu Sasaki (Husqvarna) achieved the fifth “pole position” of his sports career being the fastest in the official classification for the Argentine Grand Prix of Moto3 in the circuit of Río Hondo Hot Springs.

Sasaki set a best time of 1:48.539 and surpassed his closest pursuers by more than six tenths of a second, the Turkish Sea Pioneer (KTM) and the Brazilian Diogo Moreira (KTM).

From the first classification it was Spanish Iván Ortola (KTM) the fastest, followed by the Turkish Deniz Öncü (KTM), also Spanish Jose Antonio Rueda (KTM) and Japanese Ryusei Yamanaka (GasGas), who were the ones who passed the phase, although in second qualifying Rueda crashed at turn five when he was in eighth position and was pushing to improve his result.

At that time, in the second round, the Turkish Deniz Öncü took advantage of the fact of arriving ‘hot’ from the first classification to set the best time, 1:49.142, with just 72 thousandths of a second over the Brazilian Diogo Moreira (KTM) and 172 thousandths compared to Iván Ortolá.

Once again, the fact going through the first classification was a ‘plus’ of advantage to know much better the state of the asphalt in variable weather conditions and that could be clearly seen in the time table from the first minutes, with Öncü, Ortolá and Rueda among the highest positions in the time table.

Although some riders looked for the slipstream of their rivals to improve positions in the final minutes, few were those who achieved that goal, including one of the favorites for the title and the fastest of the weekend, the Japanese Ayumu Sasaki, who with the The checkered flag waving on the finish line climbed to the first position with 1:48.539, very close to the Spanish record Sergio García Dols (GasGas) in 2022, set at 1:48.429.

[Consulta la clasificación de pilotos de Moto3]

After Sasaki, Deniz Öncü could not improve his time and had to settle for second place, as did Diogo Moreira in third, both with the best time of their second lap.

Iván Ortolá finished in fourth placetogether with his compatriot Jaume Masia (Honda) and Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda), ahead of the Colombian of Spanish origin David Alonso (GasGas), the British Scott Ogden (KTM) and Italian Andrea Migno (Honda).

The leader of the world championship, the Spanish Daniel Holgado (KTM), had to settle for tenth position, more than a second behind Sasaki, accompanied on the fourth row by the Japanese Kaito Toba (Honda) and the Italian Matteo Bertelle ( KTM).

José Antonio Rueda was greatly affected by the fall he suffered and was unable to defend or improve eighth position and found himself overtaken by several rivals to finish thirteenth.

Xavier Artigas (CFMoto) was fifteenth, ahead of David Muñoz (KTM), with David Salvador (KTM), twenty-second, David Almansa (CFMoto), twenty-fifth and Ana Carrasco (KTM), in twenty-seventh position.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick