Palmeiras – Flamengo: Live Report, Libertadores Cup Final

by time news

Flamengo in 2019, Flamiras in 2020 – which of them will win the Libertadores Cup 2021? The dominance of the Brazilian teams ensured a third consecutive champion and a second consecutive final on the purity of the land of the samba, this time held at the Centenario Stadium in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay.

In addition to the trophy, the winner will also receive $ 15 million and a ticket to the UAE World Championships in early 2022.

Favorite Flamengo. Fan with a replica of the trophy | Reuters

Palmeiras is the reigning champion and hopes to become the first since Boca Juniors (2000 and 2001) to lift the continental trophy two years in a row. It will be a beautiful gift for Leila Pereira, who was elected last week as the first president in the club’s history. But the Portuguese Pereira led her to a win last year, staying in the job and wanting to do the same against Flamengo, the team that started with this formula of a Portuguese coach, with Georges Jesús marching her to the magical double in 2019.

The Mangoes are also looking for a third win (in the third final), with an experienced roster that includes, among others, Diego Alves, David Louise and Luis Filippa. In the league they were stopped in the last round after four consecutive victories and are expected to finish in second place, before the third Palmeiras who broke a streak of three losses with a 2: 2 home win against the champions on the way to Atletico Mineiro. Flamengo has not lost to the Palmeiras in the last nine meetings in all competitions, with Gabigol and Bruno Henrique celebrating at the expense of the Greens, who this time still lack the brakeman Marcus Roche. Felipe Melo is not one hundred percent qualified and is waiting on the bench.

Palmeiras fans
Palmeiras fans in Centenario | Reuters

The vehicles

Palmeiras: Weberton, Mike, Gustavo Gomes, Loan, Joaquin Pickers, Gustavo Scarpa, Danilo, It’s Raphael, Raphael Viega, Dudu, Rooney.

Flamengo: Diego Alves, Mauricio Isla, Rodrigo Cayo, David Louise, Filippa Luis, Willian Arau, Andreas Pereira, Everton Ribeiro, Georgen de Arescata, Bruno Henrique, Gabigol.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.