oi-Mathivanan Maran

Published: Friday, May 20, 2022, 13:44 [IST]

Google Oneindia Tamil News

Colombo: Nine new ministers were sworn in in Sri Lanka today. Sri Lankan ministers are already unpaid; Special offers have been announced to be reduced.

The economic crisis in Sri Lanka has created a politically extraordinary situation. Ranil Wickremesinghe became the new Prime Minister following the resignation of Mahinda Rajapaksa. An all party government has been formed under Ranil.

There are already 4 ministers in this government. In this position 9 more ministers were sworn in today. Nine ministers were sworn in at President Gotabhaya’s Palace in Colombo Fort. All were sworn in in the presence of President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa.

Srilanka: Nine more cabinet ministers sworn in today

New Ministries and Departments:

1. Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Ports, Shipping and Aviation

2. Susil Premajayantha – Minister of Education

3. Keheliya Rambukwella – Minister of Health

4. Vijayadasa Rajapaksa – Minister of Justice, Prisons and Constitutional Reforms

5. Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Plantation Industries

6. Nalin Penando – Minister of Trade, Commerce and Food Security

7. Tran Alas – Minister of Public Security

8. Harin Penando – Minister of Tourism and Lands

9. Manusha Nanayakkara – Minister of Labor and Foreign Employment

4 ministers already in office:

1. Professor G.L. Peiris: External Affairs

2. Dinesh Gunawardena: Public Administration, Provincial Councils, Local Governments

3. Prasanna Ranatunga: Urban Development and Housing

4. Kanchana Wijesekera: Power and Energy

It has been announced that there will be no pay for ministers due to the protracted economic crisis in Sri Lanka. As well as special offers for them have been reduced. It also called for the abolition of concessional lunches for members of parliament. Following this, the Speaker said that the dragging and closing of the Sri Lankan Parliament canteen will be discussed.

Image: Thanks-


பொருத்தமான வரன் தேடுகிறீர்களா? தமிழ் மேட்ரிமோனியில் – பதிவு இலவசம்!


Receive oneindia news instantly throughout the day

Allow Notifications

You have already subscribed

English summary

Nine new Cabinet Ministers had been sworn in before Srilanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today.

Story first published: Friday, May 20, 2022, 13:44 [IST]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.