The first Test between India and New Zealand starts today in Kanpur || India-New Zealand first Test match

by time news

The first Test between India and New Zealand starts today in Kanpur.


The first Test match between India and New Zealand starts today in Kanpur. Shreyas Iyer makes his debut.

The New Zealand cricket team, which continues its tour of India, lost the 20-over series 0-3. Participates in the next 2 match Test series. The first Test between India and New Zealand starts today (Thursday) at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh.

India captain Virat Kohli did not play in the first Test alone. Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pundit, Jaspreet Bhumira and Mohammad Shami have been rested for the Test series. Lokesh Rahul withdrew last time due to a muscle strain in his thigh. Thus, the 2nd grade Indian team enters the field. Only captain Rahane and vice-captain Pujara are experienced in batting. But walking on native soil is a positive aspect.

Shreyas Iyer, 26, who is playing one-day and 20-over matches, is making his Test debut with this match. Captain Ajinkya Rahane, who was in charge of confirming his place as a debutant, declined to comment on the Playing XI squad list. Mayank Agarwal and Chupman Gill are the opening batsmen. If they build a good foundation they can achieve big scores.

The impact of the spin bowling will always be major on Indian pitches. Akshar Patel is expected to be the 3rd spinner along with Aswin and Ravindra Jadeja. Akshar Patel took 27 wickets in the Test series against England in the county in February-March last year. One of these Tests emptied England in just 2 days. To that extent the pitch seemed like a whirlwind of paradise. It is predicted that this pitch will initially cooperate with the batting, the go-to spin bowling. If Ashwin takes 5 more wickets, he will overtake Harbhajan Singh (417 wickets) as the third highest wicket-taker in the Indian bowlers’ list.

READ Also:  Dravid would never make such statements; Gambhir criticizes Shastri

Captain Rahane has played 19 innings this year and has scored only 372 runs (average 19.57) including 2 fifties. His bad game is a matter of concern. If he does not run enough in this series alone, his place in the next South African series will be in question.

This Test is important in that sense as the series is subject to the World Test Championship. 12 points for Test victory and 4 points for draw. This is the perfect opportunity for India to retaliate against New Zealand for losing the trophy in the first World Test final.

The New Zealand team led by Kane Williamson is also strong. There are quality players like Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Tim Southee, though not Dwayne Conway, Trent Bowled. Captain Williamson is their batting backbone. The team also plans to field with 3 spin bowlers. Mitchell Santner is likely to be added to the 3rd spinner squad along with Ajaz Patel and William Somerville. This is another rare opportunity for the New Zealand team to prove that they are the best team in all circumstances, having won the first World Test Championship.

This is the 12th time that the New Zealand team is set to play in a Test series in India. But he never won a Test series. The team that has lost the series 9 times has drawn 2 series. New Zealand have played 34 Tests on Indian soil, winning only 2 of them (1969 and 1988). That means 33 years of rolling back to enjoying Test success in India. The New Zealand team has devised strategies to alleviate that long-standing nostalgia.

READ Also:  The absolute batyr Pitrau was identified in Tatarstan

In the 22 Tests played at the Kanpur Ground so far, India have won 7, lost 3 and drawn 12. New Zealand have played 3 Tests against India here, losing 2 and drawing 1. India have scored over 600 runs 3 times in this stadium.

The proposed list of the two teams for the tournament is as follows: –

India: Supman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Pujara, Rahane (capt), Shreyas Iyer, Viruthiman Saha, Aswin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma or Mohammad Siraj.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, William Young, Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nichols, Tom Blundell, Mitchell Santner or Kyle Jamison, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Somerville, Ajaz Patel.

The Test match, which starts at 9.30 am, will be telecast live on Star Sports Channels.

Achievement statistics

India and New Zealand have played a total of 60 matches in Test cricket so far. India won 21 and New Zealand won 13. 26 matches ended in a ‘draw’. Here are some achievement statistics from: –

Team Maximum: New Zealand 680/8 Declare (Wellington, 2014), India: 583/7 Declare (Ahmedabad, 1999)

Minimum: India-81 (Wellington, 1976), New Zealand-94 (Hamilton, 2002)

Top scorers: Rahul Dravid (India) – 1,659 (15 Tests), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) – 1,224 (10)

Individual maximum: Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) -302 (Wellington, 2014), Vino Mankat (India) -231 (Chennai, 1956)

Most wicket takers: Richard Hadlee (New Zealand) – 65 wickets (14), Phishing Singh Bedi (India) -57 wickets (12).

What does Rahane say?

India in-charge Captain Rahane said, ‘Lokesh Rahul was in good form. His withdrawal from injury is a setback. But we have talented young players to fill his place. Indian pitches are often conducive to spin bowling. The ball is slow and does not rise much. We expect this pitch to be the same. Now we are in the World Test Championship. Therefore, it is important to take advantage of the local field. ‘

READ Also:  Muti, Aida work of passion and problems still current today - Entertainment

New Zealand captain Williamson said: ‘We need to take a different approach to tackle India’s spin challenge. There will no doubt be the impact of the spin bowling throughout the series. A ball spins more and more and returns. The next ball will suddenly come straight towards the stumps. We have to prepare accordingly. ‘

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.