Haaland and Bonmati crowned by UEFA

by time news

2023-08-31 20:18:00

The Norwegian from Manchester City and the Spaniard from FC Barcelona received their prizes on the sidelines of the Champions League draw.

By HR with AFP After a very good season, Erling Braut Haaland wins an individual title. © OLI SCARFF / AFP Published on 08/31/2023 at 8:18 p.m.

Manchester City striker, Norwegian Erling Haaland, candidate for the Ballon d’Or, won a first individual trophy this Thursday, August 31 in Monaco by winning the title of UEFA player of the year on the sidelines of the draw for the Champions League. On the side of women’s football it is the Spanish player of FC Barcelona Aitana Bonmati.

The Manchester City No.9, who receives this distinction for the first time in his career, has had an exceptional season with his club, which has won a historic treble cup / championship / Champions League. With his 52 goals all competitions combined for his first season with City, including 39 in the Premier League – a record – the 23-year-old Mancunian was preferred to his Belgian teammate Kevin De Bruyne and the Argentinian Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), winner of the World Cup- 2022 in Qatar.

A word from the winner for Jennifer Hermoso

Rewarded with the women’s prize, Aitana Bonmati also shone last season with FC Barcelona, ​​​​a club with which she won the Spanish championship and especially the Champions League – being voted best player – for the second time in the history of the Catalan club. The Blaugrana then concluded their season in the most beautiful way at the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, which they won with Spain having been named, again, best competitive player.

Read more:  Jo-Wilfried Tsonga: "Sad, but relieved to quit tennis"

Bonmati was crowned in front of her compatriot Olga Carmona (Real Madrid), also world champion, and in front of the Australian Sam Kerr (Chelsea). The Spaniard held, after receiving her prize, to evoke the scandal of the forced kiss, which continues to shake the world of Spanish football. “We cannot allow the abuse of power”, she declared, before adding that she was dedicating her award to “Jennifer Hermoso and all the women who suffer from it”.

READ ALSOSpain: Luis Rubiales, “the macho citadel” shot down

The award for best coach went to Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), the Spanish tactician who notably enabled his team to lift the Champions League for the first time. the English selection in the final of the World Cup-2023, which was crowned, before dedicating its prize to all the players of La Roja.

#Haaland #Bonmati #crowned #UEFA

You may also like

Leave a Comment