Syed Mushtaq Ali T20: Tamil Nadu Champion-Dinamani

by time news

The Tamil Nadu team became the champion in the 13th season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Cup T20 cricket tournament. Tamil Nadu defeated Karnataka by 4 wickets in the final.

Batting first in the final in Delhi on Monday, Karnataka scored 151 for 7 in 20 overs. Next, Tamil Nadu won by 153 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Tamil Nadu hero Shah Rukh Khan became the captain.

He needed 5 runs off the last ball to give the team the victory. With this, Tamil Nadu, who came to the competition as the defending champions, retained the title. Also, the team has now retaliated for losing the championship by one run to the Karnataka team in the final of the same tournament in 2019.

Tamil Nadu, who had won the toss earlier, decided to field first. Sandeep Waria bowled the first over. Rohan Kadam – Captain Manish Pandey started the innings of the Kannada team. Sai Kisho knocked out Rohan, the main batsman of the play, in the 2nd over. Karun Nai, who saw the field next, scored 18 runs with 2 fours before Sanjay Yadav smashed a stump in the last ball of the 5th over.

Sai Kisho dismissed Manish Pandey in the first ball of the 6th over to bring in 4th wicketkeeper P.O. Sarath. Manish had scored 13 runs with 2 fours. Thus, the game stumbled, losing 3 wickets for 32 runs at the end of 6 overs. Abhinav Manohar, who came next, stopped the wicket decline and started collecting runs. D. Natarajan scored runs in the overs.

READ Also:  Adam Gilchrist backs Pat Cummins to be new Australia captain after Tim Paine 'sexting' scandal || Who is the next captain of the Australian team? Who does Gilchrist support ...?

Sarath was sent to the pavilion in the 14th over for 16 with 1 four. Praveen Dube, who followed, joined Abhinav. Abhinav, who was close to his fifty, fell to 46 with 4 fours and 2 sixes as both the batsmen were bowled out. Jagadeesa Suchid came in as the next batsman. Praveen, who scored 33 runs with 3 fours and 1 six, was run out in the last ball of the last over. In Tamil Nadu, Sai Kisho, Sandeep Warrier, Sanjay Yadav and Nadarajan took 1 wicket each.

Then Hari Nishant – Narayan Jagadeesan started Tamil Nadu’s innings with a target of 152 runs. In this, Hari scored 23 runs with 1 four and 2 sixes and lost the first wicket in the 4th over. Sai Sudhasan followed with an LPW in Karun Nair’s 8th over for 9 runs. Jagadeesan, on the other hand, relaxed a bit and captain Vijay Shankar, who came in 4th, also relaxed.

Kannada bowler Paul Kariyappa took two wickets in a row in the 16th over. Vijay, who had scored 18 runs, was out in the first ball and Jagadeesan, who had scored 41 runs with 2 fours and 1 six, was out in the second ball. Shah Rukh Khan came to play when Tamil Nadu lost 4 wickets for 95 runs. Sanjay Yadav, on the other hand, was out for 5 with 1 four. Tamil Nadu needed 30 runs in the last two overs. Mohammad was dismissed for 5 for the last wicket.

Next up was Sai Kisho Adavar, who gave a six to the Tamil Nadu team in the last ball of the 19th over. With 16 runs needed in the last over, Kishore eased the crisis with a four off his first delivery off Pratik Jain. Throwing Jain 2 wides in between is even more positive. With 5 runs needed in the last ball, Shah Rukh Khan made a six-wicket haul to give Tamil Nadu a ‘thrill’ win. On the Kannada side, Kariyappa 2, Pradeep, Vidyadhan and Karun took 1 wicket each.

READ Also:  I Dream of Christmas, Norah Jones' first Christmas album - Entertainment

Brief sco

Play – 151/7

Abhinav Manoha46

Praveen Dube 33

Jagadeesa Suchit18


Sai Kisho 3/12

Sanjay Yadav 1/32

Sandeep Waria 1/34

Tamil Nadu – 153/6


Shahrukh Khan 33 *

Hari Nishant23


கரியப்பா 2/23

Karun Nai 1/2

Pratik Jain 1/34


Tamil Nadu has won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Cup T20 for the 3rd time. It is the only team to have won the tournament more than once.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.