Presidential election on July 18; Commission announcement, Presidential elections on July 18, counting, if needed, on July 21: Election Commission

Presidential elections will be held on July 18; Voting, if necessary, will take place on July 21; Election Commission Notice

Anisha Dutta

Presidential elections on July 18, counting, if needed, on July 21: Election Commission: The Election Commission on Thursday announced July 18 as the 16th Presidential election date for electing the next President of India.

“The Election Commission of India has fixed the schedule for the election of the President of India. The announcement will be made on June 15, the last date for filing nominations will be June 29, the polls will be held on July 18 and, if necessary, the counting of votes will take place on July 21, ”Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar told reporters in Delhi.

He added, “The Election Commission has decided to adhere to all corona precautions and protocols on election day.”

President Ramnath Govind’s term ends on July 24, 2022, and according to Article 62 of the Constitution, elections to fill the vacancies created by the end of his term must be held before the end of his term.

The law states that notice of election shall be issued on or after the sixtieth day before the end of the term. The Commission of India has the power to oversee, guide and regulate the conduct of elections to the Office of the President of India in accordance with Article 324 of the Constitution, the Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Act, 1952, and the provisions made under it.

The President is elected by members of both houses of Parliament and by members of the Electoral College, which includes members of the Legislative Assembly from all states, including the national capital, Delhi, and the Union Territory of Pondicherry.

However, nominated members of the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha or the Legislative Assemblies of the States are not eligible for admission to the Electoral College and are therefore not entitled to participate in the electoral process. Similarly, members of the upper house of the legislature are not eligible to vote in presidential elections.

According to Article 55 (3) of the Constitution, elections are conducted by proportional representation with a single convertible vote and voting in such elections shall be by secret ballot. In this system, voter preferences should be indicated against the names of the candidates.

Depending on the number of candidates the voter can indicate multiple options. While it is mandatory to specify the first option for the ballot to be valid, other options are optional. The Commission also issues a specific pen to the voters at the polling booth by the designated officer at the time of handing over the ballot paper to mark the ballot.

Also read: Defamation of Prophets: Case filed against Nupur Sharma, Naveen Jindal, Saba Naqvi

Members of Parliament are expected to cast their votes at the polling booths at the Parliament premises in New Delhi and in the respective state capitals.

Rajiv Kumar has announced that he will be the returning officer for the Rajya Sabha general election.

The total vote of all MPs was 5,43,200 and the states 5,43,231. According to the Election Commission, the total electorate for the current election will be 4809.

Receive all the news of Tamil Indian Express instantly on the Telegram app


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent News

Editor's Pick